• The Digital Utility Awards

    Celebrating exceptional achievement and innovation in the utility sector

What are the Digital Utility Awards?


The Digital Utility Awards recognise the utility industry’s greatest achievements in the digitisation of utility networks, processes and practices across Australia.

Digitisation is one of the hottest topics in the utility sector today, and it’s easy to see why. The benefits digitisation will offer utilities are huge, from better understanding of customer usage and behaviour patterns, to tools to enhance and improve the productivity of employees.

The challenge for many utilities is to best understand how to incorporate many of these tools and processes into their existing networks and organisational structures. The Digital Utility Awards aim to gather some of the best ideas when it comes to the digitisation of utilities, so that all of the industry can benefit from some of the impressive changes that are being made as we make this journey towards being truly digital utilities.

There are six award categories:

Digital Utility of the Year – Energy

Awarded to the energy utility showcasing the best use and implementation of digital technologies, tools and processes across their organisation.

Utility Innovator of the Year

Awarded to the individual making the biggest contribution to the digital transformation of their utility.

Best Use of New Technology

In recognition of the best new technology in place across a utility network.

Digital Utility of the Year – Water

Awarded to the water utility showcasing the best use and implementation of digital technologies, tools and processes across their organisation.

Young Digital Leader of the Year

Awarded to the young person (under 35) demonstrating outstanding performance and passion for achieving digital transformation within their utility.

Best Customer Innovation

In recognition of the best digital innovation focused on improving customer outcomes.

Submissions are now closed. Click here to learn more about the 2019 winners.

Background Image

Why apply?


The Digital Utility Awards are a chance for your organisation to stand out and showcase your expertise to the rest of the utility industry.

Winning a Digital Utility Award means you will be nationally recognised as a utility leader, helping you to:

  • Gain visibility and recognition in the broader utility industry
  • Showcase your skills and talents
  • Introduce your organisation to potential new clients
  • Develop your personal career prospects within the utility industry

2018 Winners


The inaugural Digital Utility Awards were presented on 19 April 2018 at a gala dinner and awards ceremony that was held as part of Digital Utilities 2018.

All awards applicants were required to submit their entries by 23 February, with the shortlist announced on 13 March.

The final judging panel was comprised of Water Services Association of Australia Executive Director, Adam Lovell; Energy Networks Australia CEO, Andrew Dillon and PwC Australia’s Energy Utilities and Mining Leader, Mark Coughlin.

View highlights from the 2018 award ceremony by clicking the button below.